160 / 365

Walk in a Fairytale Forest

I walked around Ounasvaara (* area today. I was supposed to find a sightseeing place overlooking Rovaniemi but I ended up on a forest route. There was a moss by the walking route and mostly coniferous trees, both of these make the experience Lappish. The trees here up in the North are smaller than the ones in the South where I live.

I found some fancy trees that could easily star in a fairytale. Today’s featured image is a spruce that must be very old.

(* Vaara is not a mountain but a largish hill

There was a bearded tree

Parrakas puu

The beard is hanging moss

Naava2

Lots of dead pine trees that make habitats for several creatures

Lapin metsä

Pine tree is blooming at the moment

Mänty kukkii

This spruce started as one

kaksirunkoinen

A northern beauty, marsh labrador tea

Suopursu

If you don’t like strong green colors, June must be a difficult one to put up with

vihreä metsä

Leave a comment